The Clotho Team

Team Leaders

Doug was the original creator of Clotho when he was a UC Chancellor’s post doctoral fellow at UC Berkeley. He also served as the research advisor for the 2008, 2009, and 2011 Clotho iGEM teams. He is is a Kern Faculty Fellow, a Hariri Institute for Computing and Computational Science and Engineering Junior Faculty Fellow, and Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Boston University. His research focuses on the development of tools for the specification, design, and assembly of synthetic biological systems, drawing upon his experience with embedded system level design and electronic design automation (EDA). He received his B.S.E in Computer Engineering from the University of Michigan and his M.S. and PhD in Electrical Engineering from UC Berkeley. He is the director of the Cross-disciplinary Integration of Design Automation Research (CIDAR) group at Boston University.
Chris leads the Anderson Lab to resolve bottleneck steps in the design and implementation of genetic engineering projects. Currently the lab is focused on developing the Clotho and Act Synthesizer tools, multiplex characterize technologies, and formal solutions to biosafety problems. He is an Associate professor of bioengineering at UC Berkeley. His research is developing the foundational technologies and applications for synthetic biology, with a emphasis on advanced DNA assembly, computer-aided manufacture, and therapeutic organisms. He joined the UC Berkeley faculty in 2007 after earning a Ph.D from the Scripps Research Institute and pursuing postdoctoral work at UC Berkeley. His work was recognized by Technology Review with the TR35 Award in 2007 and by Synthetic Biology 2.0 with its Best Application Award in 2006.

Current Team

Greg received his B.S. degree in Computer Science from Wentworth Institute of Technology. He is currently a Research Software Engineer at Software & Application Innovation Lab (SAIL) at the Hariri Institute for Computing. He designs, develops, and deploys prototypes, applications, and software platforms in support of computational research efforts. As a interdisciplinary collaborations between SAIL and Cross-disciplinary Integration of Design Automation Research (CIDAR) group, was able to develop Clotho v4 to be used by the CIDER for the group.
Prashant received his M.S. degree in Computer Engineering from Boston University and B.E. (Hons.) degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from Birla Institute of Technology and Science. He is currently pursuing a Ph.D. in Computer Engineering at Boston University, focusing on Functional Specification in Genetic Circuits. As a part of the Cross-disciplinary Integration of Design Automation Research (CIDAR) group, he developed various computational tools for Synthetic Biology including a Logic synthesis tool for Genetic Circuits. He also developed Java and JavaScript plugin APIs for Clotho 3.0. His research interests include Computer Architecture, Computer Arithmetic, Reconfigurable Computing, Embedded Systems, Logic Synthesis and Synthetic Biology.
Nicholas received the B.S. and Ph.D. degrees in bioengineering from the University of Washington in 2010 and the University of Utah in 2014, respectively, and is currently working as a postdoctoral researcher at Boston University. He has developed methodologies and algorithms for technology mapping of genetic circuits, implemented as part of the genetic design automation software tool iBioSim, and he has contributed as an editor to the development of the Synthetic Biology Open Language (SBOL). He is currently developing Double Dutch, a web application for designing libraries of variant metabolic pathways that are tailored for use in a design of experiments framework. His research interests include biodesign automation and standards and their reconciliation with laboratory practice.

Clotho Alumni

Adam Liu

Anne Vandevender

Ben Bubenheim

Bill Cao

Bing Xia

Carlos Olguin

Cesar Rodriquez

Joanna Chen

Josh Kittleson

Lesia Bilitchenko

Marc Juul

Matthew Johnson

Maxwell Bates

Michal Galdzicki

Mina Li

Nade Sritanyaratana

Nina Revko

Richard Mar

Stephanie Paige

Swapnil Bhatia

Thien Nguyen

Timothy Ham